On 6 May this year residents in West Northamptonshire will be able to vote for councillors who will serve on the new Council.  West Northamptonshire is the area covering Daventry District, Northampton Borough and South Northamptonshire.  

A total of 93 councillors will be elected to the new Council, which will replace the existing district, borough and county councils across the three areas on 1 April 2021.

Three seats in each of the following 31 wards will be up for election in the new West Northamptonshire Council area:


  • Abington and Phippsville
  • Billing and Rectory Farm
  • Boothville and Parklands
  • Brackley
  • Braunston and Crick
  • Brixworth
  • Bugbrooke
  • Castle
  • Dallington Spencer
  • Daventry East
  • Daventry West
  • Deanshanger
  • Delapre and Rushmere
  • Duston East
  • Duston West and St. Crispin
  • East Hunsbury and Shelfleys
  • Hackleton and Grange Park
  • Headlands
  • Kingsthorpe North
  • Kingsthorpe South
  • Long Buckby
  • Middleton Cheney
  • Moulton
  • Nene Valley
  • Riverside Park
  • Silverstone
  • Sixfields
  • St. George
  • Talavera
  • Towcester and Roade
  • Woodford and Weedon

On Polling Day residents will also be able to cast votes for the Northamptonshire Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner and to elect representatives for many of their local town and parish councils.

Work is underway to ensure that residents can cast their votes safely during the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, with a range of Covid-safe measures being planned.

West Northamptonshire Council Election – Thursday, 6 May 2021
Timetable of Proceedings

Publication of Notice of Election

Thursday, 25 March, 2021

Receipt of Nominations

4pm on Thursday, 8 April 2021

Withdrawal of Candidate

4pm on Thursday, 8 April 2021

Appointment of Election Agents

4pm on Thursday, 8 April 2021

Publication of Notice of Election Agents

4pm on Thursday, 8 April 2021

Publication of Statement of Persons Nominated

4pm on Friday, 9 April 2021

Last date for registering to vote

Monday, 19 April 2021

Receipt of postal vote applications

5pm on Tuesday, 20 April, 2021

Publication of Notice of Poll

Tuesday, 27 April 2021

Receipt of Proxy Vote applications

5pm on Tuesday, 27 April 2021

Appointment of Poll and Count Agents

Wednesday, 28 April 2021

First day to issue replacement lost postal ballot papers

Thursday, 29 April 2021

Last day to issue replacement, spoilt or lost postal ballot papers

5pm on Thursday, 6 May 2021

Receipt of Emergency Proxy Vote Applications

5pm on Thursday, 6 May 2021

Day of Poll

7am to 10pm, Thursday, 6 May 2021

The Returning Officer for the West Northamptonshire election is Anna Earnshaw, Chief Executive of the new West Northamptonshire Council.

Polling arrangements are being organised by West Northamptonshire Council however correspondence until 1 April may come from elections officers at Daventry District/Northampton Borough/South Northamptonshire Council until this time.   

Until 1 April, residents will still need to apply for postal and proxy votes via their existing district or borough council contact details: